View Single Post
  #1  
Old 07-05-2024, 10:39 PM
phillynews215's Avatar
phillynews215 phillynews215 is offline   Thread Starter  
I'm A Community Feed Poster

  puertorico
 
Join Date: October 11th, 2009
Posts: 13,263
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
phillynews215 Knows Their Stuffphillynews215 Knows Their Stuffphillynews215 Knows Their Stuffphillynews215 Knows Their Stuffphillynews215 Knows Their Stuffphillynews215 Knows Their Stuffphillynews215 Knows Their Stuffphillynews215 Knows Their Stuffphillynews215 Knows Their Stuffphillynews215 Knows Their Stuffphillynews215 Knows Their Stuff


View phillynews215's Profile   Edit Options Edit Profile Picture View phillynews215's Photo Album Add phillynews215's to Your Contacts Show Groups Edit Avatar Subscribed Threads Private Messages
Default Quick Share may soon be enabled by default on every Chromebook

  • A new Chrome OS flag has appeared that enables the Quick Share feature by default.
  • Quick Share is Googles local file sharing service that works between Android, Chrome OS, and Windows.
  • The visibility setting will default to “Your Devices,” meaning youll only be able to share files with your own devices, but this can be changed.
Moving files between your Android phone and Chromebook is really simple, thanks to Quick Share. Quick Share is Samsungs and Googles file-sharing service that lets you transfer any number of files, both small and large, over a local network connection, meaning your files dont pass through the cloud. Although enabling Quick Share on Chrome OS is quite easy, Google is preparing to enable it by default anyway to increase its adoption.

Quick Share has been available on Chromebooks since Chrome OS version 91 was released in June 2021, back when the feature was still called Nearby Share. Over the years, it has received updates that added a touch of Material You design to the sharing screens and introduced Self-Share to remove the confirmation when sharing files with your own devices. Google now has plans for an overhaul of Quick Share for Chrome OS, which not only includes enabling the feature by default but also removing the Selected Contacts visibility.




More...
Reply With Quote